REST IN PEACE, SMUT


My old dog Smut, a full-blooded English Lab, died yesterday. He had a long life for a Labrador retriever, but he will be missed very much.

As one of God’s creations, dogs are a gift from God to us. Even though they have short lives relative to humans, in that short time they can give us a great deal of love and pleasure, and touch our hearts greatly. Their lives are extended by our memories of them. That is what I was thinking as I buried him in his favorite place, under the pine tree in my back yard.

It may come as a surprise that some of what I’ve written about Smut was made up. Even so, he was the smartest dog with whom I ever came in contact, even smarter than Mischief, my Lab-mix. She is missing Smut as much as the rest of the family.

I will continue to write about Smut and his remarkable life, because it pleases me to remember him.

REST IN PEACE, SMUT

Smut Wibbly Harris

Born June 10, 1999 in Oak City, NC; died March 13, 2014, in Pamlico County, NC

4 Responses to REST IN PEACE, SMUT

  1. It’s so true, a dog’s life is so short compared to ours and they give us so much! When a dog lives a good long time, it’s because their owner loved them so much and cared for them so well.
    I know Smut will be missed, treasure his memory and know he waits to see you again. Mourn awhile, then give all that love to another dog. He’d like that, I bet. 🙂

    • cctruckston says:

      Thanks, Susan. I will treasure his memory, and right now I’m giving that love to my remaining Lab, Mischief, who’s missing Smut too. After Mischief is gone, I will rescue a dog to love.

  2. Tom Johnston says:

    So sorry to hear Smut has passed. We have had all our dogs cremated and are leaving directives to mix their ashes with ours and scattered at Gates Pass outside of Tucson, AZ. If there’s an after life, and I don;t believe there is, I cannot imagine eternity without mini-Schnauzers. As my late Mother told me “Mourn for me as long as you need, but don;t dwell on it too long because you have a life to live.There is more to life than Deseree.”

    • cctruckston says:

      Thanks, Tom. I knew you would sympathize. Your mother gave you good advice. I am mourning for Smut, but he lived a long life for a dog, and we had much happiness, and that’s what I’ll remember.

Leave a Reply

